Apple Day

I love puns. Puns are great. I even taught a lesson about puns. So when I found out about Apple Day, I was very excited. The Korean word for ‘apple’ sounds like the word for ‘apology,’ so apple day is when students give their teachers apples by way of apology.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That awkward duck got an apology

The funny thing is, it’s always the good students who give apples to their teachers. Presumably they have over-active consciences, whereas the naughty students don’t feel apologetic, so they don’t bring any apples. I got one apple last year, and the student was extremely vague about what he was apologizing for. “Dear teacher” the note read, “Thank you and sorry.” It wasn’t even signed, and the apple was just left on the desk leaving me to wonder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That awkward duck got an apology

Thankfully, on teachers’ day, I received some thank-you notes that were a little clearer. One student wrote “First I have an apology to you. When I was 14 years old, I told lied to you. I’m really sorry about that. And thanks for teaching me hard. I decided to be good at English. From In the heaven”

Awwwwwwwwwwww

One thought on “Apple Day

Leave a Reply

